In the Big Bash T20 Australian League match held yesterday in Brisbane, Australia, Brisbane Heat player Michael Neser and Sydney Sixers team player Jordan Silk’s amazing catch on the boundary surprised everyone, but did you hear it? It has sparked controversy as to whether or not there is a limit.
Sydney Sixers were chasing Brisbane Heat’s 224 in 20 overs when Jordan Silk (41 off 23 balls) hit a ball bowled by Brisbane Heat bowler Mark Stegitee towards long off, the ball was heading for Sixers but Michael Neser who was standing near the boundary caught the ball. But knowing that he will cross the boundary line with the ball, he tossed the ball slightly up but it also crossed the boundary line but was still in the air, Neser jumped up just as he was crossing the boundary and caught the ball and just as it was in the gap he threw the ball up into the ground. He caught the ball in the air.
The explanation for this is that his first contact with the ball was inside the boundary line, then he crossed the boundary and the ball was still in the air, again when he caught the ball and threw it into the boundary line his feet were still in the air, then when he came back and caught it his foot touched the ground. Therefore, the first contact with the ball is in bounds and the 2nd contact is declared as catch and out. Many people appreciate Nesser’s extremely skillful and quick-witted approach, but what if he likes it all? Controversies have also arisen.
Michael Neser says, “Matt Renshaw made a similar catch 2 years ago. I don’t know if the rules have changed now so I did the same, thank God the rules have not changed,” he said.
The catch is correct and the out is also correct, but whether this should be allowed is now a matter of debate. The parties who say that this should not be allowed is that both the fielder and the ball have crossed the boundary line, then how can such a catch be allowed. But the MCC rules say it is enough to be inside the boundary line when in contact with the ball. According to this the Nesser catch is a brilliantly resourceful catch.
It seems likely that such catches will be put to an end by the ICC World Cup 2023. Attempting to catch the ball inside the boundary line by tossing the ball into the air inside the boundary line and then coming in to catch it is acceptable. But how can a jump be judged when the ball is thrown without balance and the ball has crossed the boundary line and the fielder has also crossed the boundary line? That is the question. The catch is also horrendous, it is invalid, the argument that it should not be allowed is also correct, I don’t know what the ICC is going to decide.
Chasing down the target of 224 runs by Brisbane Heat, Sydney Sixers struggled to reach 209 runs and lost. Michael Neser, the man of the catch, took all 3 wickets.
Viral Catch Video:
This is fascinating.
— KFC Big Bash League (@BBL) January 1, 2023